Rise Up

Sukina Douglas & KVS

Sukina Douglas is an internationally renown (slam) poet and performer from London with Jamaican roots. She has appeared on stage at KVS several times as a member of the hip-hop duo Poetic Pilgrimage. In Malcolm X she made quite an impression with her powerful and moving lyrics. 

This spring she will be returning to Brussels for a KVS residency. She will be going out into the city to meet Brussels people of all walks of life. A year after the attacks at the airport and the Maalbeek underground station, she will converse with them on this sensitive topic through the vehicle of poetry. 

About fifteen people will be invited to explore it in greater depth and to take up their pen in a multilingual poetry workshop on 18 and 19 March. Their writings will be shared in and with the city as memorials on the symbolic date of 22 March.

Participants: M.E. Grey, Hana Miletic, Geert Van Istendael, Maryam Kamal Hedayat, Myrthe Baptist, Samira Saleh, Sophia Bengtsson, Leen Pil, Laura Uwase, Filip Van Zandycke, Maimouna Bah, Karolina Ciejka, Tarik El-Haruati, Diane Ntahimpera, Tamara Swuine, Zohra Temzamani, Hafsa Benamar, Ajron Kotar

Rise Up

Sukina Douglas & KVS

Sukina Douglas est une poétesse (slam) et performeuse de renommée internationale. Elle a déjà arpenté la scène du KVS à plusieurs reprises en tant que membre du duo hip-hop londonien Poetic Pilgrimage. Ses textes puissants et émouvants dans le spectacle Malcolm X ont fait forte impression. 

Ce printemps, elle revient à Bruxelles pour une résidence au KVS et explorera la ville en vue de rencontrer des Bruxellois de tous bords. Un an après les attentats à l’aéroport et à la station de métro Maelbeek, elle engage le dialogue autour de ce sujet sensible au moyen de la poésie.

Sukina Douglas donnera un atelier de poésie multilingue les 18 et 19 mars prochains, pour une quinzaine de personnes de tous horizons qui seront invités à approfondir la question et à prendre leur plume. À la date symbolique du 22 mars, leurs textes seront partagés dans et avec la ville, à l’instar de mémoriaux.

Participants: M.E. Grey, Hana Miletic, Geert Van Istendael, Maryam Kamal Hedayat, Myrthe Baptist, Samira Saleh, Sophia Bengtsson, Leen Pil, Laura Uwase, Filip Van Zandycke, Maimouna Bah, Karolina Ciejka, Tarik El-Haruati, Diane Ntahimpera, Tamara Swuine, Zohra Temzamani, Hafsa Benamar, Ajron Kotar