Rashif El Kaoui

Rashif El Kaoui (°Diest, 1988) is an actor and a member of the Equal hip hop collective. He graduated as a Master in Drama from the Royal Conservatoire/Conservatory in Antwerp in 2014. In 2007 he was in the semi-finals on the Supertalent in Flanders TV programme and, with the Equal hip hop collective won the Music Live music contest. He has performed in stage productions by t,arsenaal mechelen, fABULEUS (Leuven) and HET PALEIS (Antwerp). He had previously appeared as an actor in Reizen Jihad with Junior Mthombeni and Said Boumazoughe.

Rashif El Kaoui (°Diest, 1988) performs this season in Malcolm X and Odysseus. Een zwerver komt thuis.

Who was your childhood hero?

As a child I felt a closer connection with the animal world than with that of people. In my childhood mind, heroes were always animals (the ant crossing the puddle of water risking life and limb; the blackbird protecting its young from a cat, etc.). An ermine with human features often figured as a protagonist in my fantasies. In other words, I had very few friends as a child.

When you were a child, what did you want to become?

As a child I wanted to be an interpreter. I thought it was great that people could speak several languages and could act as a channel between different worlds. The fact that the command of language implied a certain power. The way an interpreter manoeuvres between the one and the other, without necessarily having to be the one or the other himself.

What was your most unforgettable experience on stage?

It is hard to choose one specific moment. Every time you are on stage and you feel that there is a connection between you and the audience it is a moment worth remembering. When what is being said or done on stage starts to live in the minds of the audience, something occurs that transcends the simple notion of a ‘performance’. If I have to name one moment it’s the performance I did as a teenager at Karlskrona in Sweden. I was in a hip-hop group and we had won a music competition; part of the prize was to give a few performances in Sweden. When four lads from Limburg captivate an audience in a civic theatre in Sweden, as one of them, you feel for a short time like the king of the world. It was so special precisely because it was so far from home and because there was no immediate follow-up to the performance. Performing for performance’ sake, the naivety of the moment and, ‘getting hyped as fuck’.

Who would be a hero to you now?

For me, the prototype of a hero is the ‘Tank Man’. The unknown protester who held back a column of tanks on Tiananmen Square in 1989. A ‘pointless’ act of resistance against something much bigger than himself. Taking up a struggle that you can’t win but still doing it anyway.

What does it mean to you to perform in Malcolm X at KVS?

Malcolm X always made an impression on me. Although he is often portrayed in black and white terms (no pun intended), the course of his life was full of change. The contrast between his determination and his openness to change is fascinating. Apart from that I’m simply excited to be working together with a varied team of talented people.

Rashif El Kaoui

Rashif El Kaoui (°Diest, 1988) est acteur et membre du collectif de hip-hop Equal. Il a achevé ses études au Conservatoire Royal d’Anvers en 2014, où il a obtenu un master en écriture dramatique. En 2007, il était demi-finaliste de l’émission télévisée Supertalent in
Vlaanderen (Talents exceptionnels en Flandre). Avec le collectif de hip-hop Equal, il a remporté le concours musical Music Live. Il s’est produit au théâtre avec les compagnies t,arsenaal mechelen (Malines), fABULEUS (Louvain) et HETPALEIS (Anvers). Précédemment, il a joué avec Junior Mthombeni et Said Boumazoughe dans Reizen Jihad.

Rashif El Kaoui joue dans Malcolm X et Odysseus. Een zwerver komt thuis.

Qui était ton héros dans ton enfance ?

Enfant, je me sentais plus en connexion avec le monde animal qu’avec celui des humains. Dans ma petite tête, les héros étaient toujours des animaux (la fourmi qui traversait la flaque d’eau au péril de sa vie ; le merle qui protégeait ses petits du chat…) Dans mon imaginaire, il y avait souvent une hermine avec des traits humains… autrement dit, j’avais peu d’amis quand j’étais petit…

Quelle profession voulais-tu exercer plus tard quand tu étais enfant ? 

Enfant, je voulais devenir interprète. Je trouvais ça génial les gens qui parlaient plusieurs langues et qui fonctionnaient comme des relais entre différents mondes. Comment maîtriser une langue avait en soi un certain pouvoir. Comment un interprète manœuvre entre l’un et l’autre, sans pour autant nécessairement devoir être l’un ou l’autre.

Quel est ton moment inoubliable sur scène ?

C’est difficile de nommer un moment spécifique… Chaque moment sur scène, quand on sent qu’il y a une ‘connexion’ entre soi et le public, est un moment à retenir. Quand ce qui est dit/fait sur scène se met à vivre dans l’esprit de la salle, il naît quelque chose qui dépasse la construction de la ‘représentation’/’performance’. Si je dois nommer un seul moment: le concert que j’ai donné ado à Karlskrona, en Suède.  J’étais dans un groupe de hip-hop et on avait gagné un concours de musique, ce qui nous a permis de donner quelques concerts en Suède. Quand quatre ‘morveux’ limbourgeois reçoivent la Suède sur un plateau dans un théâtre national, en tant que ‘morveux’, on se sent tout de même un instant comme le ‘king of the world’.  C’était si spécial justement parce que c’était si loin de chez nous, et parce qu’il n’y avait pas de ‘suite’ directe au concert.  Jouer pour jouer, la naïveté de l’instant et ‘getting hyped as f*ck’.

Qui est selon toi un héros (aujourd’hui) ?

Le prototype d’un héros, pour moi, c’est ‘Tank Man’. Ce Manifestant inconnu qui a bloqué une colonne de chars sur la place Tian’anmen en 1989. Un acte ‘inutile’ de résistance contre quelque chose de bien plus grand que soi. Entamer une lutte que l’on ne peut gagner et pourtant l’entamer.

Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour toi de jouer dans Malcolm X au KVS ?

La figure de Malcolm X m’a toujours fait une forte impression. Même s’il est souvent représenté en noir et blanc (sans jeu de mots), toute sa vie est marquée par le changement. Le contraste entre sa détermination et son ‘openness for change’ est fascinant. En plus, je suis tout simplement ‘excited’ à l’idée de travailler avec une équipe de gens divers et talentueux.