Platform

NTGent & Action Zoo Humain

Michel is a typical Houellebecq character: about forty, a good income, looks a bit seedy, and has little hope left of enjoying an exciting life. He contents himself with meals for one, his daily television programmes, his work at the Ministry of Culture and the whores round the corner. Until, on a guided holiday, he meets Valérie, and finds her to be the ultimate sex partner. It actually involves a truly genuine feeling of love. To his amazement, Michel has to admit that he is happy. Elated by this realisation, he has the idea of exporting and exploiting his views on happiness. Together with Valérie, and with her boss Jean-Yves, he develops Eldorador Afrodite, a travel package that offers the experience of cheap exotic sex. It turns out to be an overwhelming success.

In Johan Simons’ view, the catastrophe that ends Houellebecq’s Platform is not a cynical final conclusion, because however much Valérie and Michel embody the bankruptcy of Western civilisation, they do experience something that few enjoy: genuine love. It is not without reason that we feel some sympathy for them when they themselves are affected by the disaster. Like Houellebecq, NTGent does not want to morally condemn Western man, but present his with a double picture: of both disgust and happiness. Just like the characters in Platform, we still have the chance of love, even if it is only – inevitably – immersed in the atmosphere of travel brochure romanticism.

After ten years, this production of Platform has lost none of its importance. On the contrary, as was demonstrated by a one-off revival in spring 2015. NTGent is putting Platform back on the bill, but by choosing a different, more diverse cast, adds a new component to the material. To achieve this, NTGent is joining forces with Action Zoo Humain. This Ghent theatre collective consists of performers and researchers with a variety of ethno-cultural backgrounds. AZH examines the phenomenon of super-diversity and the image of ethnic minorities in the Western world.

Again together with AZH, NTGent is also presenting a stage adaptation of Houellebecq’s latest novel, Submission, which can instinctively be read as a sequel to PlatformSubmission – directed by Johan Simons and Chokri Ben Chikha – forms a diptych with Platform. Samen met AZH brengt NTGent ook een theaterbewerking van Houellebecqs laatste roman, Onderworpen, die onwillekeurig als een vervolg op Platform kan worden gelezen. Onderworpen – een regie van Johan Simons en Chokri Ben Chikha – vormt een tweeluik met Platform

 

Price
€ 20 (cat.1) / € 17 (cat.2)
reduction
€ 17 (cat.1) / € 13 (cat.2) / € 9 (-26)
Category
Theatre

Platform

NTGent & Action Zoo Humain

Michel est un personnage typique de Houellebecq : la quarantaine, salaire confortable, apparence minable, et quasiment plus aucun espoir d’avoir une vie spectaculaire. Il se contente de plats pour une personne, des programmes télé quotidiens, de son boulot au ministère de la culture et des putes au coin de la rue. Jusqu’à ce qu’il rencontre Valérie, pendant un voyage organisé. Il trouve en elle la partenaire sexuelle idéale. Et oui, on voit pointer un vrai sentiment d’amour. A sa grande stupéfaction Michel doit avouer qu’il est heureux. Tout excité par cette idée, Michel se met en tête d’exporter et d’exploiter sa conception du bonheur. Avec Valérie et son patron Jean-Yves, il met sur pied Eldorador Afrodite, une formule de voyage axée sur les expériences sexuelles exotiques bon marché. Le succès est colossal. Cette réussite financière et ce bonheur romantique sont brusquement anéantis par un attentat au nom de l’islam…

Pour Johan Simons, la catastrophe à la fin de Platform n’est pas une finalité cynique. Car si Valérie et Michel incarnent pleinement la faillite de la civilisation occidentale, ils découvrent une chose que peu d’entre nous connaissent : l’amour vrai. Rien d’étonnant à ce que nous ressentions de la sympathie pour eux, lorsque le malheur les frappe. Avec Houellebecq, NTGent ne veut pas porter un jugement moral sur l’homme, elle veut lui présenter un miroir double : celui du dégout et du bonheur. Tout comme les personnages de Plateforme, nous avons nous aussi des chances de connaître l’amour, même si elles baignent  – inévitablement – dans un romantisme de brochure de voyages.

Dix ans après, cette mise en scène de Platform n’a rien perdu de sa signification. Au contraire, comme l’a montré la représentation unique au printemps 2015. NTGent remet Platform à l’affiche, mais en choisissant une distribution nouvelle, plus diversifiée, elle ajoute une composante au matériau. Pour ce faire, NTGent collabore avec Action Zoo Humain. Ce collectif théâtral gantois se constitue de performers et de chercheurs issus de différents contextes ethnoculturels. AZH étudie la superdiversité et la conception des minorités ethniques dans le monde occidental.

Avec AZH, NTGent monte aussi une adaptation théâtrale du dernier roman de Houellebecq, Soumission, qui peut se lire comme une suite de Plateforme. Onderworpen – mise en scène de Johan Simons et Chokri Ben Chikha – et Platform forment un diptyque. 

Prix
€ 20 (cat.1) / € 17 (cat.2)
reduction
€ 17 (cat.1) / € 13 (cat.2) / € 9 (-26)
Catégorie
Théatre