Junior Mthombeni

Junior Mthombeni (° Mechelen, 1972) is a theatre-maker, actor and musician. In recent years he has made a name for himself as the artistic head of the SinCollectief, with whom he created such highly praised productions as Troost (with the NoMoBS hip hop collective), Rumble in da Jungle and Reizen Jihad.

 

As a creator, he is also part of the collective Jr.cE.sA.r with Fikry El Azzouzi and Cesar Janssens. They were responsible for the successes Malcolm X (“breaking point in Flemish theatre history” – De Standaard) and Drarrie in de Nacht (“cool scattergun”, also according to De Standaard). Together with KVS artistic director Michael De Cock, he directed the Brel-adaptation of L’Homme de La Mancha, based on the book Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes. This recent production was also widely praised: “A bomb. Explosive direction. Unexpected, poetic, and with a magnificent finale,” according to RTBF.

 

His work as a director presents a theatrical interpretation of burning topical issues (e.g. Syria fighters, corner boys, ...), but equally examines the contemporary significance of inspiring people, movements and events from the recent past, like Malcolm X. Working with a multiethnic cast, Mthombeni captures the metropolitan setting in a form of contemporary music theatre that is influenced by urban arts and musical traditions from every continent.

 

He himself also appeared on stage as a musician, singer and actor from a very early age. He has worked with, among others, Tone Brulin at the KNS and Alida Neslo at De Nieuwe Amsterdam, and for many years appeared with such bands as Afrobeat Association, El Tattoo Del Tigre, the African Jazz Pioneers and the Internationals.

In de pers

11.10.2016 - BRUZZ - "Wij waren Beyonce voor"
19.10.2016 - Knack Focus - Malcolm X is een swingende mijlpaal in de geschiedenis van KVS
19.08.2017 - De Standaard Weekblad - 'Het is een mooie dag om een feestje te bouwen'
10.09.2017 - het Theaterfestival - ‘Ik zal niet zomaar meer buigen, die tijd is voorbij’
03.10.2017 - L'Echo - Focus sur la Flandre qui crée

Malcolm X
Malcolm X
Drarrie in de nacht
Drarrie in de nacht
L'Homme de La Mancha
L'Homme de La Mancha
JR
JR
© Danny Willems
© Danny Willems
© Danny Willems
© Danny Willems

Junior Mthombeni

 

Junior Mthombeni est créateur de théâtre, acteur et musicien. Ces dernières années, il s’est fait remarquer, tout d’abord en tant que directeur artistique du SINcollectief avec lequel il a créé des spectacles unanimement applaudis, comme Troost (Consolation – avec le collectif de hip-hop NoMoBs), Rumble in da Jungle et Reizen Jihad (Voyages Jihad).

 

Ensuite, en tant que créateur dans le collectif Jr.cE.sA.r, avec Fikry El Azzouzi et Cesar Janssens. Ensemble, ils ont réalisé les spectacles à succès Malcolm X (« du jamais vu dans l’histoire du théâtre flamand » - De Standaard) et Drarrie in de Nacht (« une bombe à fragmentations », également dans De Standaard). Il a mis en scène, avec le directeur artistique du KVS, Michael De Cock, l’adaptation de Brel de L’Homme de La Mancha d’après le roman Don Quichotte de Miguel de Cervantes. Ce spectacle a aussi été accueilli avec enthousiasme : « C’est de la bombe. Une mise en scène explosive qui tient jusqu’au bout. C’est inattendu, c’est poétique, et avec une finale magistrale », selon la RTBF.

 

Ses mises en scène proposent une interprétation théâtrale de sujets brûlants de l’actualité (p.ex. des personnes parties combattre en Syrie, des jeunes désœuvrés qui traînent dans les rues), mais analysent aussi bien la signification contemporaine de personnages inspirants, de mouvements et d’événements du passé (récent), comme Malcolm X. Avec une distribution pluri-ethnique, Mthombeni saisit le contexte métropolitain et le transpose dans du théâtre musical contemporain influencé par les arts urbains et des traditions musicales des quatre coins du monde.

 

Très jeune déjà, Junior Mthombeni s’est produit sur scène en tant que musicien, chanteur et acteur. Il a travaillé, entre autres, avec Tone Brulin au KNS, avec Alida Neslo à De Nieuw Amsterdam, et a joué des années durant avec des groupes comme Afrobeat Association, El Tattoo Del Tigre, African Jazz Pioneers et les Internationals.

 

In de pers

11.10.2016 - BRUZZ - "Wij waren Beyonce voor"
19.10.2016 - Knack Focus - Malcolm X is een swingende mijlpaal in de geschiedenis van KVS
19.08.2017 - De Standaard Weekblad - 'Het is een mooie dag om een feestje te bouwen'
10.09.2017 - het Theaterfestival - ‘Ik zal niet zomaar meer buigen, die tijd is voorbij’
03.10.2017 - L'Echo - Focus sur la Flandre qui crée

Malcolm X
Malcolm X
Drarrie in de nacht
Drarrie in de nacht
L'Homme de La Mancha
L'Homme de La Mancha
JR
JR
© Danny Willems
© Danny Willems
© Danny Willems
© Danny Willems