Onderworpen

NTGent & Action Zoo Humain

‘They will soon forget me’. It is with these words that Michel, the main character in Michel Houellebecq’s novel Platform, staged by Johan Simons in 2005, brings the story to a close. Michel’s words sum up a world view. Western civilization is limping along on its last legs, an era has passed and with it all the chances of future happiness. The question is: what now?

Submission, Houellebecq’s latest novel, provides an answer. In its fictional future, the chaotic, neoliberal world of Platform has given way to a new order. France is ruled by the democratically elected Muslim Brotherhood and the new government provides a stable social climate. The price is the curtailment of several freedoms, the subjugation of women and the rejection of the values of the Enlightenment. The main character, François, is only too happy to submit to the belief that is imposed on him. ‘It would be the chance of a second life that had little to do with the first.’ Plagued by a defeatist view of Western society and his own life, François is hoping for a new chance at happiness. Also in love.

Platform is co-directed by Johan Simons and Chokri Ben Chikha of Action Zoo Humain in Ghent. This collective is made up of performers and researchers from different ethnic and cultural backgrounds. AZH examines the super-diversity and image of ethnic minorities in the Western world. The starting point for this collaboration between NTGent and AZH is a two-parter. Johan Simons’ production of Platform will be restaged with a new cast who will also perform in Submission. The two performances can be viewed separately or as two parts of a whole.

Price
€ 20 (cat.1) / € 17 (cat.2)
reduction
€ 17 (cat.1) / € 13 (cat.2) / € 9 (-26)
Category
Theatre

Onderworpen

NTGent & Action Zoo Humain

‘Ils m’oublieront vite’. Ce sont les derniers mots du spectacle, prononcés par Michel, personnage principal du roman Plateforme de Michel Houellebecq, porté à la scène en 2005 par Johan Simons. Les mots de Michel résument une vision du monde. La civilisation occidentale fait ses derniers pas en boitillant, une ère s’éteint, avec elle toutes les chances d’être encore heureux. Reste la question : et maintenant ?

Le dernier roman de Houellebecq Soumission apporte une réponse. Dans cette fiction futuriste, le monde chaotique, néolibéral de Plateforme est remplacé par un ordre nouveau. La France est gouvernée par un parti démocratiquement élu, la Fraternité musulmane, le nouveau gouvernement assure un climat social stable. Le prix à payer : la suspension de certaines libertés, la soumission de la femme et le rejet des valeurs des Lumières. François, le personnage principal, se soumet volontiers à la foi imposée. ‘Ce serait la chance d’une deuxième vie, sans grand rapport avec la précédente.’ Taraudé par un regard défaitiste sur la société occidentale et sur sa propre vie, François espère une seconde chance d’être heureux. En amour aussi. 

Pour la mise en scène de Onderworpen, Johan Simons travaille avec Chokri Ben Chikha du collectif gantois Action Zoo Humain. Ce collectif est constitué de performers et de chercheurs, issus de contextes ethno-culturels différents. AZH explore la superdiversité et l’image des minorités ethniques dans le monde occidental. A l’origine de cette collaboration entre NTGent et AZH : un diptyque. La mise en scène de Johan Simons de Platform revoit le jour, avec une distribution nouvelle, qui sera la même que pour Onderworpen. Les deux spectacles peuvent se voir séparément, ou en diptyque.

Prix
€ 20 (cat.1) / € 17 (cat.2)
reduction
€ 17 (cat.1) / € 13 (cat.2) / € 9 (-26)
Catégorie
Théatre